I Am My Own Valentine

vici lou
2 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

It’s Valentine’s Day. A day full of love, roses, sweets, and cheesy greeting cards. But really, it’s just another Tuesday.

I am spending it solo…well, with my pets and maybe a glass of wine or two. Although I could be spending it with a few special people, I decided not to.

I choose me.

I am at a period in my life where I know what I want. I know what I deserve. I know my worth. And I will never settle for anything less.

I’ve loved so hard, felt so deeply, and given my heart away to people who didn’t deserve it. That’s life. I don’t regret any of it, even the most painful experiences. Every single romantic relationship and friendship has taught me so much about myself.

As painful as some of those endings were, they made me stronger. It helped me discover and heal inner child wounds that I didn’t know I had.

Through all the endless tears and heartbreak — I found peace and love within. I realized I don’t need anybody to make me happy or make me feel loved.

This year, I am not chasing love. I am not chasing happiness. I am not chasing people. I’m not looking backward. I am not giving my energy to people who no longer serve my greater good. Instead, I am just being. I am pouring all my power, energy, love, and peace into myself.

What is meant for me will always find me. I trust in God’s plan and purpose for me. In my heart, I know that whatever he has planned for me, nobody or anything will get in the way of that.

Love yourself & trust the process. All will work out in the end.

Happy V-day humans ❤

--

--